Friday, October 17, 2014

G439 Book Review of Misdirection by Austin Williams

Name of Book: Misdirection

Author: Austin Williams

ISBN: 978-1-62681-355-7

Publisher: Diversion Books

Part of a Series: Rusty Diamond Trilogy

Type of book: street drugs, mystery, narcotics, death, solving, science, street magician, going back home, ex relationships, modern times

Year it was published: 2014

Summary:

A street magician needs more than sleight-of- hand to survive getting embroiled in a murder case in this blistering novel of suspense, perfect for fans of Harlan Coben and George Pelecanos.

After years of chasing fame and hedonistic excess in the bright lights of Las Vegas, Rusty "The Raven" Diamond has returned home to Ocean City to piece his life back together. When he finds himself an innocent suspect in his landlord's brutal murder, Rusty abandons all hope of maintaining a tranquil existence. Acting on impulse, he digs into the investigation just enough to anger both the police and a local drug cartel.

As the unsolved case grows more complex, claiming new victims and inciting widespread panic, Rusty feels galvanized by the adrenaline he's been missing for too long. But his newfound excitement threatens to become an addiction, leading him headfirst into an underworld he's been desperately trying to escape.

Austin Williams creates an unforgettable protagonist in Rusty, a flawed but relatable master of illusion in very real danger. As the suspense builds to an explosively orchestrated climax, Williams paints a riveting portrait of both a city—and a man—on the edge.
Add to GR Button

Characters:

Some of the characters did stand out but they felt flat rather than rounded, and it seemed as if only a single personality trait defined them, at least that's the way I remember them: Rusty Diamond is a former street magician with a heart of gold along with intelligence; then there is his friend Jim who happens to be on the police force and the times we meet him is he often recalls Rusty. Other characters include Kenny Dixon and then the teenage boy who used narcotics and accidentally gave Rusty a lead for solving crime. The women that were there, Rusty's former ex girlfriend as well as the dead woman's niece weren't very memorable and weren't very complex.

Theme:

Sometimes the best people that can solve a crime are not police

Plot:

The story is in third person narrative from Rusty Diamond's point of view. At times I am curious as to why the point of view jumped to other characters when it often seemed that they added little to the story, and jumping was without a warning. I also would have wanted to get a bit more into Rusty's characters and emotions instead of simply inferring that he's a misunderstood rebel.

Author Information:
(From Book Junkie Promotions)

Buy the Book

About the Author

03_Austin WilliamsThe new thriller by Austin Williams, Misdirection, is now available from Diversion Books. It is the first novel of The Rusty Diamond Trilogy. Williams is the author of the acclaimed suspense novels Crimson Orgy and The Platinum Loop. He is the co-author (with Erik Quisling) of Straight Whisky: A Living History of Sex, Drugs and Rock ‘n’ Roll on the Sunset Strip. He lives in Los Angeles.
Follow Austin Williams on Twitter and Goodreads.


Opinion:

I'm really not sure why, but I'm pretty ambivalent towards the book. It did promise to have something special, in that of a street magician trying to solve a crime and it did have that, but neither the characters nor the story had a strong pull on me. The story itself also feels a bit incomplete, but it could be because its going to be part of a trilogy.

This is for Book Junkie Promotions

Misdirection Blog Tour Schedule

Monday, September 22
Review at The Bookworm
Tuesday, September 23
Review at Sitting in the Stacks
Wednesday, September 24
Spotlight at Tales of a Book Addict
Thursday, September 25
Review at Next Chapter Books
Monday, September 29
Spotlight & Giveaway at Peeking Between the Pages
Tuesday, September 30
Review at The Librarian Fatale
Wednesday, October 1
Review at Any Good Book
Review & Giveaway at The Crime Scene
Tuesday, October 2
Review at The Discerning Reader
Friday, October 3
Interview at Any Good Book
Monday, October 6
Review at Me and My Books
Review & Interview at Back Porchervations
Tuesday, October 7
Spotlight at Layered Pages
Wednesday, October 8
Spotlight at Flashlight Commentary
Thursday, October 9
Review at Boom Baby Reviews
Review & Interview at A Cup Of Tea & A Big Book
Monday, October 13
Review & Giveaway at Book Reviews & More by Kathy
Tuesday, October 14
Spotlight at CelticLady’s Reviews
Wednesday, October 15
Review at Book Nerd
Friday, October 17
Review at Svetlana’s Reads and Views
Review at Beth’s Book Reviews

3 out of 5
(0: Stay away unless a masochist 1: Good for insomnia 2: Horrible but readable; 3: Readable and quickly forgettable, 4: Good, enjoyable 5: Buy it, keep it and never let it go.)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...