Sunday, August 2, 2015

G610 Book Review of Her sister's shoes by Ashley Farley

Name of Book: Her Sister's Shoes

Author: Ashley Farley

ISBN: 9780986167218

Publisher: Self Published

Type of book: South Carolina Lowcountry, women's interest, sisterhood, family, community, abuse, infidelity, family business, losing memory, changing lives, change, accidents, life after accident, finances

Year it was published: 2015

Summary:

Set in the South Carolina Lowcountry and packed with Southern charm and memorable characters, HER SISTER'S SHOES portrays three sisters—Samantha, Jackie, and Faith—who struggle to balance the demands of career and family while remaining true to themselves.

Samantha Sweeney has always been the glue that holds her family together, their go-to girl for love and support. When an ATV accident leaves her teenage son in a wheelchair, she loses her carefully constructed self-control.

In the after-gloom of her dreaded fiftieth birthday and the discovery of her husband’s infidelity, Jackie realizes she must reconnect with her former self to find the happiness she needs to move forward.

Faith lacks the courage to stand up to her abusive husband. She turns to her sisters for help, placing all their lives at risk.

In the midst of their individual challenges, the Sweeney sisters must cope with their mother’s mental decline. Is Lovie in the early stages of Alzheimer’s, or is her odd behavior normal for a woman her age? No one, including Lovie, understands her obsession with a rusty key she wears around her neck.

For fans of Elin Hildebrand, HER SISTER'S SHOES is a contemporary women’s novel that explores and proves the healing power of family.

Characters:

The main characters include Sammy who is loyal and resourceful as well as optimistic and forgiving and is struggling with the fact that her son continues to feel guilt and believes he cannot walk again. Jackie is the oldest sister and cares more for herself and for the way things look to the outsiders, namely the wealthy friends rather than inside. She struggles with her husband's infidelity and trying to figure out the real her. The youngest sister, Faith, is married to an abusive man with a young daughter who desperately needs to get away from her husband. Faith strikes me as meek and someone who wants best for everyone but not herself. Other characters include the sisters' mother who is beginning to lose her memory, then the men, although I do recall some details, but they're not as memorable as the women are.

Theme:

When we help others, we forget our own miseries

Plot:

The story is written in third person narrative from Sammy's, Jackie's and Faith's point of view. What I also really liked about the book is that while each chapter mentioned the character who is talking, they also had a distinct pair of shoes which seemed to fit the sisters' personality; Jackie had a pair of high heels, Sammy had a pair of comfortable shoes and Faith had a pair of flip flops. The things sisters struggle with are different, but at times these differences can overlap and create the same situations.

Author Information:
(From iRead Book Tours)

Ashley Farley author pic
Meet the author:  


Ashley Farley is a wife and mother of two college-aged children. She grew up in the salty marshes of South Carolina, but now lives in Richmond, Virginia, a city she loves for its history and traditions.

After her brother died in 1999 of an accidental overdose, she turned to writing as a way of releasing her pent-up emotions. She wrote SAVING BEN in honor of Neal, the boy she worshipped, the man she could not save. SAVING BEN is not a memoir, but a story about the special bond between siblings.

When she's not working on her next novel, HER SISTER'S SHOES, scheduled for release in July of 2015, she can be found book blogging at www.chroniclesofavidreaders.com.


Connect with the author: Website ~ Twitter ~ Facebook

Opinion:

I read only three books that took place in South Carolina Lowcountry; namely, Someone Else's Love Story, Palmetto Moon, and this book. Out of the three I read, I would highly recommend that this is the one that should get picked up and read the most. Why? A lot of things really impressed me when it came to this book, namely the emphasis on family, although I did disagree with some decisions the family has made, the importance of community and how much we depend on community to sustain and help us, Also what impressed me the most is how fascinating and interesting the three sisters' stories were: I can tell each sister apart from one another and each has a fascinating story that one can't wait to get back to. Some of the situations were a little too wrapped up neatly, and I do wish more would have been focused on Jacqueline, but nevertheless its a great summer read to remind one of the importance of bonds with family and community.

This is for iRead Book Tours

Tour Schedule:

June 29 - Working Mommy Journal - review / giveaway
June 29 - The World As I See It - review / giveaway
June 29 - Story Matters - review / giveaway
June 30 - Peeking Between the Pages - review / giveaway
July 1 - Mary-andering Creatively - review / giveaway
July 2 - A simple Life, really!? - review
July 2 - 3 Partners in Shopping - review / giveaway
July 3 - Kritters Ramblings - review
July 6 - From Isi - review
July 6 - Deal Sharing Aunt - review / giveaway
July 7 - A soccer Mom's Book Blog - review / giveaway
July 7 - Library of Clean Reads - review / giveaway
July 8 - Bless Their Hearts Mom - review / guest post / giveaway
July 9 - StoreyBook Reviews - review / guest post / giveaway
July 10 - Sarah Rehmatullah - review
July 13 - Did YOU Hear About the Morgans? - review
July 13 - The Autistic Gamer - review 
July 14 -Just One More Chapter - review / giveaway
July 16 - Zerina Blossom's Books - review / giveaway
July 17 - Jorie Loves a Story - review
July 17 - Jessica Cassidy - review / author interview / giveaway 
TBD - Svetlana's Reads and Views - review
4 out of 5
(0: Stay away unless a masochist 1: Good for insomnia 2: Horrible but readable; 3: Readable and quickly forgettable, 4: Good, enjoyable 5: Buy it, keep it and never let it go.)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...